The law firm of Burch, Porter & Johnson is pleased to announce that three of our attorneys have been named 2014 Lawyers of the Year by peer-review publication The Best Lawyers in America. W. J. Michael CodyJoe M. Duncan and Jef Feibelman were recognized in the following practice areas:

W. J. Michael Cody: Best Lawyers’ 2014 Memphis Mediation “Lawyer of the Year.”

Joe M. Duncan: Best Lawyers’ 2014 Memphis Family Law “Lawyer of the Year.”

Jef Feibelman: Best Lawyers’ 2014 Memphis Litigation – Banking & Finance “Lawyer of the Year.”

After more than a quarter of a century in publication, Best Lawyers is designating “Lawyers of the Year” in high-profile legal specialties in large legal communities. Only a single lawyer in each specialty in each community is being honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.”

Best Lawyers compiles its lists of outstanding attorneys by conducting peer-review surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. The current, 19th edition of The Best Lawyers in America (2014) is based on more than 3.9 million detailed evaluations of lawyers by other lawyers.

The lawyers being honored as “Lawyers of the Year” have received particularly high ratings in our surveys by earning a high level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism, and integrity.

Steven Naifeh, President of Best Lawyers, says, “We continue to believe – as we have believed for more than 25 years – that recognition by one’s peers is the most meaningful form of praise in the legal profession. We would like to congratulate the attorneys at Burch, Porter & Johnson on being selected as Lawyers of the Year for 2014.”

Burch Porter & Johnson, PLLC, one of the oldest law firms in Tennessee, engages in a highly-respected litigation and business practice. Since its founding over 100 years ago, the firm has maintained a tradition of involvement in the legal and community affairs of the region. Burch, Porter & Johnson’s principal office is located in downtown Memphis in buildings named to the National Register of Historic Places.